Greek Orthodox Metropolis of Chicago
SS. Constantine and Helen Cathedral
Merrillville, IN
2017-2018 Sunday School - posted on August 18, 2014

Sunday School begins every Sunday with the Divine Liturgy at 9:00 am, followed by class time from 10:15 – 11:00 am.  Classes are held September through May.

The purpose of Sunday School is to cultivate within our children the Orthodox Christian way of life.  Throughout the year, our Sunday School is teaching our children not only the facts of our Orthodox Faith, but also the practical side of living it.  Each month our children and teachers are involved in various service projects to assist those less fortunate thus stressing the teachings of our Lord to “love one another.”

Registration fee for every child, which includes texts, materials and retreats, is $25 per child. Children ages 3 years old as of August 1st through senior year high school may be registered.

 

2017-2018 Sunday School Calendar

Sunday, October 15:  Class Pictures

Wednesday, November 15:  Holy Unction 6:30 pm

Monday, November 20:  Staff Meeting 7:00 pm

Hats, Mittens, Gloves Project Begins

Sunday, December 10:  Christmas Program Practice after class

Thursday, December 14:  Christmas Family Night

Sunday, December 17:  Christmas Program Practices

Sunday, December 24:  Christmas Program

Saturday, January 6:  theophany

Sunday, January 7:  Classes Resume

Sunday, January 14:  Parish Vasilopita

Oratorical Festival Prep begins this month

Sunday, February 4:  Godparent Sunday — No Sunday School Classes

Sunday, February 11:  Mission Boxes Passes Out

Monday, February 12:  Staff Meeting 7:00 pm

Monday, February 19:  Great Lent Begins

Sunday, February 25:  Sunday of Orthodoxy

Sunday, March 18:  Oratorical Festival

Saturday, March 31:  Saturday of Lazarus Retreat

Sunday, April 1:  Palm Sunday — No Sunday School Classes

Sunday, April 8:  PASCHA

Sunday, April 15:  Christos Anesti Balloon Release following classes

Sunday, May 20:  Last day of class

Saturday, May 26 and Sunday, May 27:  Junior Olympics

 

 

 

 

 

 

-----------------